Posted by: nimbu | December 25, 2009

Getting rusty at being an Atheist!

I’ve been an Atheist now for a few years. Not too long ago, I took a break from writing this blog because I was bombarded with negative, angry and ridiculous feedback. After a long break, I’d decided to get back into the swing of things – because the blog stats indicated that a lot of people are stopping by, and I should keep writing.

But because I wasn’t defending my positions on a regular basis, I had become rusty. I was having drinks with a friend and told him that I was an Atheist. I thought I had already told him – but I guess I was wrong. Anyway, a few drinks later we turned to the subject of god hating homosexuality. (Christians will note that god does not hate gays – he only hates the sin. I still find that crazy, since the sinner committing the sin is the one who’s punished for committing that very sin!!! If god really hated that “sin”, he should’ve just abolished it from existence.)

Anyway…

So my friend said “No way! The Bible doesn’t say homosexuality is wrong!” Now, in the old days, I could’ve quoted the passage directly – or at least paraphrased it. And at the very least, I could tell you what book and passage to reference. I found myself this time a little short on evidence. I knew it was in the Bible, just couldn’t remember where. I was a little shocked at how rusty I had gotten!!!

Anyway, for those of you wondering, here it is in the Bible:

Leviticus 20:13

“If a man lies with a man as one lies with a woman, both of them have done what is detestable. They must be put to death; their blood will be on their own heads.”

I like this story because it’s just absurd:

Genesis 19:1 to 19:8

1 The two angels arrived at Sodom in the evening, and Lot was sitting in the gateway of the city. When he saw them, he got up to meet them and bowed down with his face to the ground.

2 “My lords,” he said, “please turn aside to your servant’s house. You can wash your feet and spend the night and then go on your way early in the morning.”

“No,” they answered, “we will spend the night in the square.”

3 But he insisted so strongly that they did go with him and entered his house. He prepared a meal for them, baking bread without yeast, and they ate.

4 Before they had gone to bed, all the men from every part of the city of Sodom—both young and old—surrounded the house.

5 They called to Lot, “Where are the men who came to you tonight? Bring them out to us so that we can have sex with them.”

6 Lot went outside to meet them and shut the door behind him

7 and said, “No, my friends. Don’t do this wicked thing.

8 Look, I have two daughters who have never slept with a man. Let me bring them out to you, and you can do what you like with them. But don’t do anything to these men, for they have come under the protection of my roof.”

Responses

  1. You can also find in the new testament about how anyone who practices this is worthy of death and those who have pleasure (friendship) with them who do these things are worthy of death.

    Its in the first chapter in the book of romans.

    So if God doesn’t hate Gays and only hates their sins, why would anyone who has a best friend that is gay be worthy of death too? According to that I can’t go hang out with my gay friend and his boyfriend, even though I am not gay. I can’t even have him as a best friend because the new testament says light can not have communion with darkness. (2 Corinthians 6:14)

    So yeah christians who say that, I believe are wrong. Because their bible tells a whole other story.

  2. Hey there,
    I have been visiting your site for a while now hoping for updated content. You may recall, I had a blog and all that is now in the past but anyway.

    Glad to see you back in the swing of things.

    I was looking up some stuff on liveleak and came across this story about male prostitution in Pakistan and although I lived in Karachi for the first 19 years of my life (I am in my mid 30’s now) I was never aware of the depth of the issue.

    http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=02e_1256435106

    Check it out and post more often…

    Xmuslim.

  3. Hi,

    We have a facebook group for Pakistani atheist. If you or other would like to join, please email for invitations. The group’s visibility is set to secret for obvious reasons.

    Regards

    XAV


Leave a Reply

Categories

