Posted by: nimbu | December 24, 2009

I’m confused…

I was listening to NPR the other day and heard gospel singing – specifically music from “Black Nativity”, and it got me thinking:

Why do people who have been obviously neglected by their god turn out to be the most religious? Why do they love their god, even after hundreds of years of “punishment”?

But let me be more specific: African Americans, enslaved by white “Christians” for hundreds of years, not only took on their owner’s last names, but also adopted their owner’s religion.

When millions of Africans prayed every night to Jesus, why didn’t he (Jesus) listen? Why didn’t god do anything? For hundreds of years, spanning many generations, he ignored prayers from Africans. Where was he? And finally when Africans were technically free, they simply ignored the hundreds of years of neglect and fall back in love with the same god that left them enslaved!

It’s amazing and confusing. Once again, we offer thanks to god for the good things that happen, but never blame him for the bad things that happen.

Responses

  1. Kinda related to this story: I was listening to NPR on the way in to work last Monday and heard the report they filed about the Haitian community in Miami on attending in masses, services in churches the day before. In a soundbite, I heard a preacher saying” God loves us too much, we should ask for his help with all the people in Haiti now” and I am like, are you F***in nuts. “He” f**ed you guys up, 70,000 people are burried outside the capital in mass graves and 3 times as much more still under rubble and you think God loves you…..

    There is no reason with people these days is it?

    Anyway.
    Later

    Xmuslim

  2. Honestly I have always wondered the same thing. There were some African American kids that used to make fun of me when I was a kid and tell me that I was “going to Hell” for not believing in their Jesus or not being a Christian. I remembered reading about their enslaved ancestors and I was just amazed by this line of thinking since their Jesus didn’t do anything to help them. I have noticed, however, that there are some who have converted to Islam or (very rarely) Judaism, and others have declared themselves Agnostic or Atheist. Neil deGrasse Tyson, for example, is an African American atheist.


Leave a Reply

Categories

